Auto Insurance in Indiana
The State of Indiana currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.
If you are in a car accident in Indiana, the local police will send a report to the state police who will pass it on to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV). If your insurance company doesn't provide the Indiana State Police with your policy information, the BMV will ask you to prove your financial responsibility through a certificate of compliance. From the date this certificate of compliance is issued, you will be given 40 days to have your insurance agent complete and submit your certificate to the BMV.
Indiana Minimum Liability Coverage
Liability coverage is required by law in the State of Indiana. The minimum liability amounts for the State of Indiana are as follows:
$25,000 bodily injury per person.
$50,000 total bodily injury per accident.
$10,000 total property damage per accident.
Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.
The State of Indiana currently requires UM/UIM coverage for bodily injury with a minimum limit of $50,000.
Indiana is a not no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.
The State of Indiana current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.
Indiana SR-22 Requirements
SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.
Indiana currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.
Indiana DUI Laws
For the first DUI offense in the State of Indiana, you will face the following maximum penalties:
30 to 60 days imprisonment or up to 1 year if BAC is 0.15% and above
Up to $500 or up to $5,000 if BAC is 0.15% and above
Up to 2 year license suspension
Possible ignition interlock device
Possible community service
Possible attendance to a victim impact panel
Possible substance abuse education
Possible urine testing
Additional Information on Indiana Insurance
For additional information, you can contact the Indiana Department of Insurance at (800) 622-4461 or go to their website at www.in.gov/idoi/.
Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in IN