Save up to 75% on insurance

Cheapest rates from just $19 a month

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in Oregon

The State of Oregon currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

Oregon also requires your insurance company to send you an insurance card that shows the effective date and expiration date of your policy. Keep this card in your vehicle at all times. Driving without liability insurance could result in fines, suspension of driving privileges, and impounding of your vehicle. If a judge convicts you of driving uninsured, you will have to file proof of financial responsibility with the Driver and Motor Vehicle Services (DMV) for 3 years or face suspension of your license. This is in addition to any fines you must pay.

Oregon Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of Oregon. The minimum liability amounts for the State of Oregon are as follows:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $50,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $20,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of Oregon currently requires UM and UIM coverage, with a minimum coverage limit of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.

No-Fault Insurance

Oregon is not considered a no-fault state, and it does not restrict tort-based recovery of damages from the at-fault driver. However, it requires no-fault PIP coverage as outlined below.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

Oregon's required PIP coverage allows drivers and passengers, regardless of who caused an accident, to have insurance coverage for "reasonable and necessary" medical, dental, hospital, surgical, ambulance, and prosthetic services incurred within one year after the date of an injury up to a maximum of $15,000. In Oregon, minimum PIP benefits include the below coverage:

  • Medical services: Treatment is considered reasonable and necessary unless a provider receives a denial notice within 60 calendar days of claim notice. After that, the burden of proving that treatment was not reasonable and necessary is on the insurance company.
  • Loss of earnings: This benefit is available if your injury prevents you from returning to work. It begins on the 14th day of your disability. You receive up to 70 percent of wages up to a maximum benefit of $3,000 a month for 52 weeks.
  • Essential services: If you are not employed, you are entitled to reimbursement of reasonably incurred expenses for the essential services that you would normally perform. You will receive up to $30 a day for up to 52 weeks. This benefit begins on the 14th day of disability.

  • Funeral expenses: You will be paid for reasonable and necessary funeral expenses within one year of the date of injury up to a maximum benefit of $5,000. Oregon law and your insurance policy allow PIP benefit disputes to be resolved by arbitration as long as both parties agree at the time of the dispute. Know your PIP limit. Review this coverage carefully and consider raising your limit.

Oregon SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Oregon currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Oregon DWI Laws

For the first DWI offense in the State of Oregon, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • Minimum 2 days to 1 year imprisonment or 80 hours community service
  • Minimum $1,000 fine
  • Minimum $2,000 fine if BAC is above 0.15%
  • Up to $10,000 fine if minor under 18 in vehicle
  • $300 other DUI fees
  • 1 year license suspension
  • Ignition interlock required for 1 year
  • Completion of drug and alcohol treatment
  • Required participation in victim impact panel program
  • Possible DUI diversion program

Additional Information on Oregon Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Oregon Insurance Division at (888) 877-4894 or go to their website at

Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in OR.