Save up to 75% on insurance

Cheapest rates from just $19 a month

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in West Virginia

The State of West Virginia currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

If you have a registered vehicle in the state, you are obligated by law to obtain West Virginia auto insurance or other proof of financial responsibility.

West Virginia Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of West Virginia. The minimum liability amounts for the State of West Virginia are as follows:

  • $20,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $40,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $10,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of West Virginia currently requires UM/UIM coverage with the same minimum requirements as the liability insurance.

No-Fault Insurance

West Virginia is a not no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

The State of West Virginia current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

West Virginia SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

West Virginia currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

West Virginia DUI Laws

For the first DUI offense in the State of West Virginia, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • Up to 6 months imprisonment
  • 2 days to 6 months imprisonment if Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is above 0.15%
  • 2 days to 1 year if minor under 16 is present in vehicle
  • $100 to $500 fine
  • $100 to $1,000 if BAC is above 0.15%
  • $200 to $1,000 if minor under 16 is present in vehicle
  • 15 day license suspension
  • 45 day license suspension if BAC is above 0.15%
  • Possible ignition interlock

Additional Information on West Virginia Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the West Virginia Insurance Commission at (304) 558-3386 or go to their website at

Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in WV.