Posted June 5, 2012
Maria Richmond, Researcher
Car Insurance Florida
The State of Florida requires that all drivers be covered under car insurance Florida property damage liability (PDL) and no-fault auto insurance (PIP). Proof of car insurance Florida must always be carried within the vehicle at all times. Also, since Florida has a lot of seasonal residents, any part-time resident living in Florida at least 90 days each year is also required to carry the mandatory car insurance Florida PIP and car insurance Florida PDL.
Car insurance Florida regulations are based on two major laws: the car insurance Florida No Fault Law and the car insurance Florida Financial Responsibility Law. All car insurance Florida vehicle owners are required to maintain car insurance Florida no-fault insurance policies. This car insurance Florida will cover both the injuries and damages to themselves and their passengers in an accident. The car insurance Florida Financial Responsibility Law covers damage to other peoples' property and does not relate to injuries or damages of your own; this is the car insurance Florida mandatory minimum property damage liability (PDL) coverage.
The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles will suspend your driver license, vehicle tag and registration if your car insurance Florida company cancels your PIP and PDL coverage and you fail to obtain new car insurance Florida coverage. To get your license, tag and car insurance Florida registration reinstated, you must then provide proof of car insurance Florida insurance and pay an increased reinstatement fee for each offense.
Car Insurance Florida Minimum Liability Coverage
Car insurance Florida liability coverage is required by law in the State of Florida in the form of Property Damage Liability (PDL). The minimum liability amount for the State of Florida for car insurance Florida PDL coverage is:
- $10,000 total property damage per accident.
Unlike almost all other states, car insurance Florida does not require liability coverage for bodily injuries that may result from accidents you are found to be at fault for. The state, however, highly recommends that drivers get the following minimum car insurance Florida coverage:
- $10,000 bodily injury per person.
- $20,000 total bodily injury per accident.
Remember that these are only the minimum car insurance Florida requirements or guidelines set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the car insurance Florida state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect. Also, getting car insurance Florida liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add car insurance Florida collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.
Car Insurance Florida: Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require that drivers carry uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.
The State of Florida does not currently require this car insurance Florida coverage.
Car Insurance Florida: Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage for you and your passengers, regardless of fault. As a no-fault state, the State of Florida current requires drivers to carry car insurance Florida PIP insurance with a minimum car insurance Florida coverage limit of $10,000.
A standard car insurance Florida PIP plan covers the following (up to your limit):
Car Insurance Florida: SR-22 Requirements
- 80% of medically necessary expenses
- 60% of lost wages
- 100% of replacement services such as child care, housekeeping or yard work
- Up to $5,000 for death benefits
SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum car insurance Florida liability coverage. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of car insurance Florida. Car insurance Florida currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.
Car Insurance Florida: DUI Laws
For the first DUI offense in Florida, you may face a number of car insurance Florida maximum penalties. For example, 6 months imprisonment if BAL (Blood Alcohol Level) is 0.08%, 180 days to 1 year license suspension, Ignition interlock device required for six months or up to a 10 day vehicle impound.
Furthermore, if you are found guilty of or plead no contest to a DUI, you will have to carry a much higher minimum car insurance Florida liability than otherwise required.