Compare Auto Insurance

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in Alaska

The State of Alaska currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

Alaska Statute 28.22.019 requires that you must have a copy of your policy, certificate of self-insurance, or identification card in your immediate possession when you are driving a motor vehicle. Additionally, if you are involved in an accident that results in bodily injury, death, or property damage exceeding $501, you will be required to show proof of insurance.

Failure to have insurance can result in the suspension of your driver’s license. Before your license can be reinstated, proof of financial responsibility must be supplied and reinstatement fees must be paid. An SR-22 filing, which provides proof of financial responsibility, may be obtained from your insurance company and must be filed with the Division of Motor Vehicles for three years following an accident in which the driver was uninsured.

Alaska Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of Alaska. The minimum liability amounts for the State of Alaska are as follows:

  • $50,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $100,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $25,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of Alaska does not currently require this coverage.

No-Fault Insurance

Alaska is a not no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

The State of Alaska current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

Alaska SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Alaska currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Alaska DUI Laws

In Alaska, you can be imprisoned a minimum of 72 hours, receive a $1,500 fine, and face a minimum of a 90-day suspension of your drivers license for the first DUI offense.

Additional Information on Alaska Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Alaska Division of Insurance at (907) 465-2515 or go to their website at

Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in AK.