Compare Auto Insurance

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in Arizona

The state of Arizona currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

In the event of a traffic stop or an accident, Arizona law enforcement will ask you to provide proof of insurance. If you cannot provide evidence of current car insurance coverage, your vehicle registration or your driver's license could be suspended.

To reinstate your license or registration, you will have to pay fees and offer proof of financial responsibility. Proof of financial responsibility is often in the form of an SR-22 form that the vehicle owner must carry for three years from the date of suspension. If your auto insurance policy is inactive, the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division will send you an inquiry to verify your status.

Arizona Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of Arizona. The minimum liability amounts for the state of Arizona are as follows:

  • $15,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $30,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $10,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The state of Arizona does not currently require this coverage.

No-Fault Insurance

Arizona is a not no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

The state of Arizona current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

Arizona SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance. Some states do not require SR-22 filings to reinstate driving privileges, but most do.

Arizona currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Arizona DUI Laws

In Arizona, for the first DUI offense, you will receive the following penalties:

  • $250 DUI Base Fine
  • $200 Arizona DUI Surcharge
  • $10 Probation Surcharge
  • $500 Prison Construction Assessment
  • $500 Arizona Xtra DUI Assessment
  • 1 to 10 day(s) imprisonment
  • 90-360 days license suspension
  • Possible court-ordered installation ignition interlock device at the expense of the DUI offender.

Additional Information on Arizona Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Arizona Division of Insurance at (602) 364-3100 or go to their website at

Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in AZ.