Save up to 75% on insurance

Cheapest rates from just $19 a month

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in Arkansas

The State of Arkansas currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

Arkansas tracks all automobile liability insurance in the state through a database containing all (VIN) vehicle identification numbers as well as all active auto insurance policies. So, if you should allow your car insurance to lapse, by failing to pay your premium or canceling your policy, the Arkansas Office of Motor Vehicles will be notified within 30 days.

This violation will result in suspension of your vehicle registration. To have your registration reinstated, you will be required to provide proof that you do, in fact, carry current liability insurance that meets the minimum requirements.

Arkansas Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of Arkansas. The minimum liability amounts for the State of Arkansas are as follows:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $50,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $25,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of Arkansas does not currently require this coverage.

No-Fault Insurance

Arkansas is a not no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

The State of Arkansas current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

Arkansas SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Arkansas currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Arkansas DUI Laws

For the first DUI offense in the State of Arkansas, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • From 1 day to 1 year imprisonment or community service
  • From 7 days to 1 year imprisonment or community service if anyone under 16 is in the vehicle
  • $150 to $1,000 fine
  • 6-month license suspension
  • Possible court-ordered installation ignition interlock device at the expense of the DWI offender
  • Completion of substance abuse program
  • Attendance of victim impact panel

Additional Information on Arkansas Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Arkansas Insurance Department at (501) 371-2600 or go to their website at

Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in AR.