Compare Auto Insurance

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in Connecticut

The State of Connecticut currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

Drivers who are stopped for a traffic violation will need to present proof of a valid insurance policy to a law enforcement officer. If you are unable to verify your insurance coverage, you may be cited. You also cannot register any vehicle in the State of Connecticut without presenting evidence of insurance coverage. The Connecticut Division of Motor Vehicles will be made aware if you allow your insurance policy expire after registering a vehicle. Connecticut auto insurance laws requires insurance companies to notify the DMV when policies for actively registered motor vehicles are discontinued. Once the DMV is notified, they will inform the vehicle owner that he or she must offer proof of valid insurance to avoid the $200 fine.

Connecticut Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of Connecticut. The minimum liability amounts for the State of Connecticut are as follows:

  • $20,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $40,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $10,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of Connecticut currently requires UM/UIM coverage, with minimum amounts of $20,000 per person up to a total of $40,000 per accident for any bodily injury caused by the uninsured or underinsured motorist.

No-Fault Insurance

Connecticut is a not no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

The State of Connecticut current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

Connecticut SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Connecticut currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Connecticut DUI Laws

For the first DUI offense in the State of Connecticut, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • 48 hours to 6 months imprisonment
  • $500 to $1000 fine
  • 1 year license suspension
  • Successful completion of substance abuse program
  • Vehicle towed and impounded for 48 hours

Additional Information on Connecticut Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Connecticut Insurance Department at (860) 297-3800 or go to their website at

Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in CT.