Compare Auto Insurance

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in Georgia

The State of Georgia currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

To ensure compliance with Georgia's mandatory insurance laws, insurance companies are required to share information about your policy with the Georgia Department of Revenue through a statewide database. Even so, drivers are encouraged to carry proof of insurance at all times. If you are not equipped with an actual card from your insurance company, you should keep a copy of your policy's declaration page in your vehicle.

Georgia Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of Georgia. The minimum liability amounts for the State of Georgia are as follows:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $50,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $25,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of Georgia does not currently require this coverage.

No-Fault Insurance

Georgia is a not no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

The State of Georgia current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

Georgia SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Georgia currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Georgia DUI Laws

For the first DUI offense in the State of Georgia, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • 10 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $300 to $1000 fine
  • Up to 1 year license suspension
  • Minimum 40 hours community service
  • $210 license reinstatement fee

Additional Information on Georgia Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Georgia Office of Insurance and Fire Commissioner at (404) 656-2070 or go to their website at