Compare Auto Insurance

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in Hawaii

The State of Hawaii currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

Hawaii auto insurance regulations are more stringent than those in many other states. If you don't have insurance on your motor vehicle, you must surrender the registration certificate and license plates to your county director of finance. And when you do that, you will not be able to drive the vehicle. If you are caught driving without proof of insurance, the fine will be a minimum of $500 for a first offense. Additionally, it will get you four points on your motor vehicle record. If you are caught driving without proof of insurance for a second time, you will be fined a minimum of $1,000 along with a four month license suspension. The third violation will carry a $1,000 fine, an eight month license suspension and a potential 40 hours of community service.

Hawaii Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of Hawaii. The minimum liability amounts for the State of Hawaii are as follows:

  • $20,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $40,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $10,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of Hawaii does not currently require this coverage.

No-Fault Insurance

Hawaii is a no-fault state and requires no-fault bodily injury liability insurance for all drivers.

Hawaii operates under a $5,000 monetary threshold for no-fault insurance, which means that if you are injured in an accident and need medical care that costs more than $5,000, you may be able to sue the other driver for damages if they were at fault.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage for you and your passengers, regardless of fault.

The State of Hawaii current requires drivers to carry PIP insurance with a minimum coverage limit of $10,000.

Hawaii SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Hawaii currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Hawaii DUI Laws

For the first DUI offense in the State of Hawaii, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • 2 to 5 days imprisonment plus 2 more days if minor under 15 is present in vehicle
  • $150 to $1,000 fine plus $500 more if minor under 15 is present in vehicle
  • 90-day prompt license suspension (driving may be allowed) or
  • 30 day prompt license suspension (driving limited to court approval) or
  • 6 month license suspension if BAC is above 0.15% (all driving is prohibited)
  • $25 to $50 special trauma fund surcharge
  • 72 hours community service
  • Successful completion of court ordered substance abuse education program

Additional Information on Hawaii Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs at (808) 586-2790 or go to their website at