Compare Auto Insurance

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in Idaho

The State of Idaho currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

When registering, or re-registering, a vehicle in Idaho, you will be asked to sign a statement to certify that your motor vehicle is, and will continue to be insured. This is in accordance with Idaho Code Sections 49-117(18) and 49-1229. You are not, however, obligated to present evidence of your insurance policy at the time of registration.

Idaho Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of Idaho. The minimum liability amounts for the State of Idaho are as follows:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $50,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $15,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of Idaho does not currently require this coverage.

No-Fault Insurance

Idaho is a not no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

The State of Idaho current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

Idaho SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Idaho currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Idaho DUI Laws

For the first DUI offense in the State of Idaho, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • Up to 6 months imprisonment
  • Up to $1,000 fine
  • 90 to 180 days license suspension
  • Restricted license possible after 30 days
  • Alcohol evaluation and treatment possible

Additional Information on Idaho Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Idaho Department of Insurance at (208) 334-4250 or go to their website at

Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in ID.