Compare Auto Insurance

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in Illinois

The State of Illinois currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

The minimum fine for operating a motor vehicle without valid insurance is $500. If you are cited for driving while your registration is suspended for being uninsured, you will be charged a $1,000 fine.

Illinois Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in Illinois. The minimum liability amounts for the state of Illinois are as follows:

  • $20,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $40,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $15,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Illinois Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of Illinois currently requires all drivers to carry UM/UIM coverage.

No-Fault Insurance

Illinois is not a no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

The State of Illinois current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

Illinois SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Illinois does not require SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Illinois DUI Laws

In Illinois, you may receive the following penalties upon your first DUI conviction:

  • Up to one year imprisonment; plus 6 months if a child under 16 is in the vehicle
  • Fine of up to $2,500; plus at least $500 if BAC is above 0.16%; plus at least $1,000 if a child under 16 is in the vehicle
  • 1 year minimum license suspension
  • Ignition interlock device possible
  • Vehicle registration suspension
  • 100 hours minimum community service is BAC is above 0.16%
  • 25 days community service if child under 16 is in the vehicle

Additional Information on Illinois Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Illinois Department of Insurance at (866) 445-5364 or go to their website at

Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in IL.