Compare Auto Insurance

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in Maine

The State of Maine currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

To register a vehicle in the State of Maine, you will need to present your insurance company issued proof of coverage card to the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV). Always keep this proof of insurance card in your automobile in the event you will need to present it to a law enforcement officer. Maine law requires insurance companies to notify the BMV when a liability policy is cancelled in order to reduce the number of uninsured drivers in Maine. If your insurance policy is cancelled, the insurance company will notify the BMV and you will subsequently receive a letter from the Secretary of State that requests proof of insurance within 30 days. If you fail to provide proof of coverage, your vehicle's registration will be cancelled.

Maine Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of Maine. The minimum liability amounts for the State of Maine are as follows:

  • $50,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $100,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $25,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver (and any passengers) in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of Maine currently requires UM/UIM coverage for bodily injury with mandatory minimums of $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident.

Maine law requires you to have uninsured motorist coverage equal to the amount of liability that you have on your policy unless you specifically elect to buy uninsured motor vehicle coverage with lower limits of liability for bodily injury or death. You must sign a rejection form provided by the insurance company before the effective date of the policy to reject the equal limits. However, if you decide to request a limit lower than your liability coverage limit, the limit cannot go below the aforementioned minimum required amount of $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident.

No-Fault Insurance

Maine is a not no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) / Medical Payments (MedPay)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

The State of Maine current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

However, Maine does require medical payments coverage covering at least $2,000. Medical payments coverage pays for the medical and funeral expenses incurred by you or others hurt or killed in an accident while riding in or driving your car. Claims against this coverage include all reasonable hospital, surgical, chiropractor, X-ray, dental, professional nursing, prosthetic, and funeral expenses. It will also cover you and family members of your household for injuries resulting from another vehicle while walking or biking, or while riding in another car. This coverage will pay for your medical and funeral expenses even if you cause the accident. Usually, only expenses incurred within a specified period of time after the accident are included. 

Maine SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Maine currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Maine DUI Laws

For the first DUI offense in the State of Maine, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • Up to 30 days imprisonment
  • $500 fine
  • 90-day license suspension

Additional Information on Maine Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Maine Bureau of Insurance at (207) 624-8475 or go to their website at

Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in Maine.