Compare Auto Insurance

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in Mississippi

The State of Mississippi currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

If you fail to carry the necessary coverage in the State of Mississippi, you will face serious penalties. Upon your first offense of driving without proper insurance, you will be charged a fine of $1,000 and your driver's license will be suspended for one year, or until you present proof of valid insurance.

Mississippi Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of Mississippi. The minimum liability amounts for the State of Mississippi are as follows:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $50,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $25,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of Mississippi does not currently require this coverage.

No-Fault Insurance

Mississippi is a not no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

The State of Mississippi current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

Mississippi SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Mississippi currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Mississippi DUI Laws

For the first DUI offense in the State of Mississippi, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • Up to 48 hours imprisonment
  • $250 to $1,000 fine
  • 90 day license suspension
  • Possible hardship license after 30 days
  • Possible alcohol safety education program
  • Possible attendance to victim impact panel

Additional Information on Mississippi Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Mississippi Insurance Department at (601) 359-3569 or go to their website at

Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in MS.