Save up to 75% on insurance

Cheapest rates from just $19 a month

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in Missouri

The State of Missouri currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

Acceptable forms of proof of insurance include: a financial responsibility identification card issued by the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR), a motor vehicle liability insurance policy, binder or receipt, a self-insured identification card that has been issued by the DOR, or a current insurance identification card including the name and address of your insurer, your name, policy number, the effective dates of coverage and a description of your insured vehicle.

Missouri Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of Missouri. The minimum liability amounts for the State of Missouri are as follows:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $50,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $10,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of Missouri currently requires UM/UIM coverage, with minimum amounts of $20,000 per person up to a total of $50,000 per accident for any bodily injury caused by the uninsured or underinsured motorist.

No-Fault Insurance

Missouri is a not no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

The State of Missouri current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

Missouri SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Missouri currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Missouri DUI Laws

For the first DUI offense in the State of Missouri, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • Up to 6 months imprisonment
  • Up to $500 fine
  • 30 day license full suspension
  • 60 day license restricted suspension
  • $45 license reinstatement fee
  • SR-22 insurance
  • Possible ignition interlock

Additional Information on Missouri Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Missouri Department of Insurance at (573) 751-4126 or go to their website at

Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in MO.