Save up to 75% on insurance

Cheapest rates from just $19 a month

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in Nevada

The State of Nevada currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

Nevada drivers are required to present a Nevada Evidence of Insurance card for vehicle registration, renewals, reinstatements and license plate changes. To ensure the card is written for Nevada, it must contain these statements:

  • "Coverage meets the requirements set forth in NRS 485.185"
  • Reference that the insurance coverage meets or is in compliance with Nevada laws; or
  • State “Nevada Evidence of Insurance” or other similar language, and;
  • “This card must be carried in the insured motor vehicle for production upon demand.”

Nevada Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of Nevada. The minimum liability amounts for the State of Nevada are as follows:

  • $15,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $30,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $10,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of Nevada does not currently require this coverage.

No-Fault Insurance

Nevada is a not no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

The State of Nevada current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

Nevada SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Nevada currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Nevada DUI Laws

For the first DUI offense in the State of Nevada, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • 2 days to 6 months imprisonment or
  • 96 hours community service if permitted
  • $400 to $1,000 fine
  • 90 day license suspension
  • Possible restricted license after half suspension fulfilled
  • Possible ignition interlock
  • $150 DUI school tuition
  • Possible DUI treatment program

Additional Information on Nevada Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Nevada Insurance Commissioner's Office at (775) 687-0700 or go to their website at

Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in NV.