Compare Auto Insurance

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in New Hampshire

New Hampshire is the only state that does not require all motor vehicle owners to carry auto insurance. But, this doesn't mean that most drivers aren't insured; quite the opposite, insured driver rates are comparable with other states. Also, while New Hampshire Motor Vehicle Laws do not require you to carry auto insurance, you must still be able to demonstrate that you are able to provide sufficient funds to meet New Hampshire Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Requirements in the event of an “at-fault” accident. If you are unable to meet these requirements your driving privileges in New Hampshire may be suspended.

Certain drivers in New Hampshire are required to purchase liability insurance. Reasons you may be obligated to purchase a policy are because you have had convictions or violations including Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) charges, or have had many DMV Demerit Points. If this is the case, the state will mail you a notice informing you of your insurance requirements. If you are obligated to carry New Hampshire auto insurance, your insurance carrier will need to complete an SR-22 form to verify that you have coverage. If you have had one DWI conviction, you will need to carry liability insurance for three years. After a second offense, you will need to maintain auto insurance for five years. If your license was suspended, you may have to purchase insurance and an SR-22 will be submitted to the Division of Motor Vehicles. Most traffic violations call for an SR-22 certificate.

Also, any New Hampshire cars that are either leased or financed are required (by the financing company) to carry insurance.

New Hampshire Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is not required by law in the State of New Hampshire. But for those drivers who do buy auto insurance, the minimum liability amounts mandated by the State of New Hampshire are as follows:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $50,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $25,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

Per New Hampshire Statutes, NH RSA 264:15, if you buy auto insurance you must also purchase Uninsured Motorists Coverage. Uninsured Motorists Coverage must be provided at limits equal to your Liability coverage.

No-Fault Insurance

New Hampshire is a not no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and MedPay

PIP and MedPay insurance is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

Per New Hampshire Statutes, NH RSA 264:16, if you buy auto insurance for personal use, you must also buy Medical Payments Coverage. Medical Payments Coverage pays for medical expenses incurred as a result of an automobile accident (regardless of fault). By law, you must buy at least $1,000 of Medical Payments Coverage.

New Hampshire SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

New Hampshire currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

New Hampshire DWI Laws

For the first DWI offense in the State of New Hampshire, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • Minimum 10 days imprisonment if aggravated DWI
  • Minimum $500 fine
  • Minimum $750 fine if aggravated DWI
  • 9 month to 2 year license suspension
  • 18 month to 2 year license suspension if aggravated DWI
  • Completion of impaired driver program
  • Possible alcohol/drug treatment and counseling
  • SR-22 insurance required for 3 years

Additional Information on New Hampshire Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the New Hampshire Department of Insurance at (603) 271-2261 or go to their website at

Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in NH.