Compare Auto Insurance

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in New York

The State of New York currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

The New York Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has the Insurance Information and Enforcement System (IIES), that will detect uninsured vehicles. Insurers are required to report to the DMV information, such as cancellations, renewals, and issuance of new policies, on all persons they insure for motor vehicle insurance. This information is entered into an electronic database that will continuously track insurance coverage for each registered vehicle. Failure to maintain liability insurance coverage for your car at all times can result in the suspension of your vehicle registration and driver’s license, as well as other substantial monetary penalties.

If you are driving uninsured in New York and are involved in an accident, your driver's license and vehicle registration will be revoked for a minimum of one year. You will suffer the same consequences if you allow someone else to drive your car without liability insurance and they are involved in an accident. This type of violation also calls for a traffic court fine in the amount of $1,500. Additionally, you will be charged $750 as a civil penalty, which you will have to pay the DMV in order to have your license reinstated

New York Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of New York. The minimum liability amounts for the State of New York are as follows:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $50,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $10,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of New York currently requires UM and UIM coverage, with a minimum coverage limit in line with the state's bodily injury liability limits.

No-Fault Insurance

New York is a no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is required (see PIP below).

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

As a no-fault state, the State of New York current requires drivers to carry PIP insurance with the following minimum coverage limit: $50,000 per person per accident.

in New York, PIP covers the following:

  • Reasonable and necessary accident related medical and rehabilitation expenses (in accordance with established fee schedules)
  • 80% of lost earnings from work, up to a maximum payment of $2,000 per month for up to three years from the date of the accident; subject to statutory offsets for New York State disability, Worker’s Compensation and Federal Social Security disability benefits.
  • Up to $25 a day, for up to a year from the date of the accident, to reimburse other reasonable and necessary expenses, (e.g., household help, and transportation expenses to/from medical treatment) resulting from the auto accident; and
  • A $2,000 death benefit (in addition to the $50,000 basic no-fault limit), payable to the estate of a person eligible for no-fault benefits who is killed in a motor vehicle accident.

New York SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

New York currently does not require an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

New York DWI Laws

For the first DWI offense in the State of New York, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • Class “E” felony if minor under 16 in vehicle
  • Up to 1 year imprisonment; up to 4 years if minor under 16 in vehicle
  • $500 to $1,000 fine; up to $5,000 if minor under 16 in vehicle
  • Minimum 6 month license suspension
  • Mandatory surcharge
  • Mandatory alcohol screening/evaluation
  • Possible ignition interlock
  • Possible driver responsibility assessment

Additional Information on New York Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the New York State Insurance Department at (800) 342-3736 or go to their website at

Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in NY.