Compare Auto Insurance

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in Oklahoma

The State of Oklahoma currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

If you cannot provide evidence of insurance when it is requested by an Oklahoma law enforcement officer or a Department of Public Safety representative, you may be charged a $250 fine, be sentenced to 30 days in jail, or both. You may also have your license and vehicle registration suspended if you are convicted for non-compliance with the Compulsory Insurance Law, or if you cannot prove that you have a valid Oklahoma insurance policy when confronted by a law enforcement officer.

Oklahoma Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of Oklahoma. The minimum liability amounts for the State of Oklahoma are as follows:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $50,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $25,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of Oklahoma does not currently require this coverage.

No-Fault Insurance

Oklahoma is a not no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

The State of Oklahoma current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

Oklahoma SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Oklahoma currently does not require an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Oklahoma DUI Laws

For the first DUI offense in the State of Oklahoma, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • 10 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • Up to 4 years imprisonment if minor under 18 is present in vehicle
  • Up to $1,000 fine
  • Doubled fine if minor under 18 is present in vehicle
  • 30 day license suspension
  • Treatment assessment and evaluation
  • Minimum $300 DUI fee

Additional Information on Oklahoma Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Oklahoma Insurance Department at (405) 521-2828 or go to their website at

Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in OK.