Compare Auto Insurance

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in Rhode Island

As of November 1, 1993, the laws of the State of Rhode Island require every driver and owner to be financially responsible in case of an auto accident – the purchase of automobile liability insurance being the only practical way to comply. Penalties are levied on owners and drivers without the coverage.

Rhode Island Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of Rhode Island. The minimum liability amounts for the State of Rhode Island are as follows:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $50,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $25,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have adequate or any auto insurance.

The State of Rhode Island currently requires UM/UIM coverage, but you may decline to purchase uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage if you choose to buy only minimum limits of bodily injury and property damage liability as required by law.

No-Fault Insurance

Rhode Island is a not no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

The State of Rhode Island current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

Rhode Island SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Rhode Island currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Rhode Island DWI Laws

For the first DWI offense in the State of Rhode Island, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • Up to 1 year imprisonment and/or 10 to 60 hours community service
  • $100 to $300 fine if BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) is 0.08%
  • $100 to $400 fine if BAC is 0.09% to 0.15%
  • $500 fine if BAC is above 0.15%
  • $500 highway assessment fee
  • 30 to 180 days license suspension if BAC is 0.08%
  • 3 months to 1 year if BAC is 0.09% to 0.15%
  • 3 months to 18 months is above 0.15%
  • Mandatory attendance to DWI course

Additional Information on Rhode Island Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Rhode Island Division of Insurance Regulation at (401) 462-9520 or go to their website at