Save up to 75% on insurance

Cheapest rates from just $19 a month

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in Virginia

In the Commonwealth of Virginia To have a vehicle registered with the state, you must certify that it is covered by a certain level of liability insurance. If you choose not to secure auto insurance, you may pay the Uninsured Motor Vehicle Fee ($500) instead. You will not be covered for any damages at all if you are involved in an accident, but you will be permitted to register a vehicle and drive without violating the law. This $500 fee only covers one registration period, when you renew registration, you will have to pay another $500.

While this is an option, the best way to protect yourself financially is to acquire at least the minimum amount of required Virginia auto insurance.

Vehicle owners who are uninsured (and have not paid the UMV fee) will have their operator’s license suspended. To be reinstated, they must pay a $500 statutory fee, a $30 reinstatement fee, and file an SR-22 with DMV for three years, which certifies that they have insurance.

Virginia Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the Commonwealth of Virginia. The minimum liability amounts for the Commonwealth of Virginia are as follows:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $50,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $20,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The Commonwealth of Virginia currently requires UM/UIM coverage with the same coverage limits as for the required liability coverage (25/50/20). The $20,000 property damage coverage is subject to a $200 deductible when a loss is caused by a hit-and-run driver who cannot be identified.

No-Fault Insurance

Virginia is a not no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

The Commonwealth of Virginia current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

Virginia SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Virginia currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Virginia DUI Laws

For the first DUI offense in the Commonwealth of Virginia, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • Minimum 5 days imprisonment if minor under 18 is present in vehicle
  • 5 days imprisonment if Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.15% to 0.20%
  • 10 days imprisonment if BAC is above 0.20%
  • Minimum $250 fine
  • Add $500 to $1,000 if minor under 18 is present in vehicle
  • 1 year license suspension
  • Ignition interlock if BAC is 0.15% and above
  • Alcohol safety program

Additional Information on Virginia Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Virginia Bureau of Insurance at (800) 552-7945 or go to their website at

Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in VA.