Compare Auto Insurance

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

The Basics of Auto Insurance Florida

When it comes to auto insurance, Florida is a no-fault insurance state. Auto Insurance Florida requires drivers to maintain personal injury protection (PIP) and property damage liability (PDL) coverages, often called Florida’s No-Fault, or Auto Insurance Florida, requirements. In most cases, bodily injury liability (BIL) coverages are not required under auto insurance Florida requirements.

Auto insurance Florida regulations mandate drivers to carry PIP coverage of at least $10,000 with PDL coverages of at least $10,000. PIP reimburses you and your passengers for injuries caused during an accident, regardless of fault. This auto insurance Florida coverage also protects you and your household members from injuries incurred as a pedestrian, bus rider or bicycle rider. Auto insurance Florida regulations also mandate PDL coverage which reimburses the other driver for damages caused to their property, as a result of your negligence. This auto insurance Florida coverage does not reimburse you for property damage if you cause the accident.

Auto insurance Florida regulations do not require drivers to carry BIL insurance coverage. BIL insures the other party against injuries you cause to them during an accident. This at-fault auto insurance Florida coverage also reimburses legal costs incurred while defending you from litigation resulting from the accident. The minimum selection for this auto insurance Florida coverage is $10,000 per person with $20,000 per accident. Insurance carriers may require you to sign a rejection form if you reject BIL auto insurance Florida coverage.

Under auto insurance Florida requirements, taxi drivers are required to carry BIL coverage. If the taxi is registered under a person, auto insurance Florida regulations require the driver to carry BIL coverage of at least, $125,000 per person with $250,000 per accident and $50,000 in auto insurance Florida PDL. Under these circumstances, auto insurance Florida regulations do not mandate taxi drivers to carry PIP.

Auto insurance Florida regulations are designed to reduce court litigations and improve overall safety on the Florida roadways. Drivers that fail to comply with the auto insurance Florida regulations are subject to immediate driver’s license suspensions and vehicle registrations revocations. Noncompliance with auto insurance Florida regulations results in extensive penalties which can include a 5-year license suspension and restoration fees of several hundred dollars.