Compare Auto Insurance

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in Delaware

The State of Delaware currently requires that all drivers under the same roof be covered under liability auto insurance and proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

Proof of insurance is required to be shown at the time of an accident, if you are pulled over, and when you are registering your vehicle. Furthermore, the State of Delaware conducts random checks with insurance companies on registered vehicles to verify coverage. If you are unable to provide proof of auto insurance when operating a vehicle, then your license could be suspended, and you will face fines up to $1,500 even for the first offense. A second offense may carry fines of up to $3,000.

Delaware Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in Delaware. The minimum liability amounts for the state of Delaware are as follows:

  • $15,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $30,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $10,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Delaware Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of Delaware does not currently require this coverage.

No-Fault Insurance

Delaware is a no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is required (see PIP below).

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage for you and your passengers, regardless of fault.

As a no-fault state, the State of Delaware current requires drivers to carry PIP insurance. The minimum coverages required are:

  • $15,000 for bodily injury to any person
  • $30,000 for bodily injuries to all persons involved in a single accident, with no more than $15,000 to any one person
  • $5,000 for funeral expenses

Delaware SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Delaware does not require SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Delaware DUI Laws

In Delaware, you can be imprisoned up to 6 months and receive a $500 to $1500 fine for your first DUI offense. In addition, your license will be suspended for the following duration based on your Blood Alcohol Level:

  • 12 months if BAC 0.08% to less than 0.15%
  • 18 months if BAC 0.15% to less than 0.19%
  • 24 months if BAC is greater than 0.20%

Additional Information on Delaware Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Delaware Department of Insurance at (302) 674-7300 or go to their website at

Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in DE.