Save up to 75% on insurance

Cheapest rates from just $19 a month

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in Florida

The State of Florida currently requires that all drivers be covered under property damage liability (PDL) and no-fault auto insurance (PIP) and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment. Also, since Florida has a lot of seasonal residents, any part-time or seasonal resident living in Florida at least 90 days each year is also required to carry the mandatory PIP and PDL insurance, even if the 90 days are not consecutive.

Florida auto insurance regulations are based on two major laws: the No Fault Law and the Financial Responsibility Law. All vehicle owners in the state are required to maintain no-fault insurance policies that will cover both the injuries and damages to themselves and to their passengers in the event of an accident; this is Florida's mandatory PIP requirement (see below). Florida's Financial Responsibility Law covers damage to other peoples' property and does not relate to injuries or damages of your own; this is Florida's mandatory minimum property damage liability (PDL) coverage.

The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles will suspend your driver license, vehicle tag and registration if your insurance company cancels your PIP and PDL coverage and you fail to obtain new coverage. To get your license, tag and registration reinstated, you must then provide proof of insurance and pay a reinstatement fee of $150 for the first offense, a $250 fee for a second offense, and a $500 fee for a third violation.

Florida Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of Florida in the form of Property Damage Liability (PDL). The minimum liability amount for the State of Florida for PDL coverage is:

  • $10,000 total property damage per accident.

Unlike almost all other states, Florida does not require liability coverage for bodily injuries that may result from accidents you are found to be at fault for. The state, however, highly recommends that drivers get the following minimum coverage:

  • $10,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $20,000 total bodily injury per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements or guidelines set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of Florida does not currently require this coverage.

No-Fault Insurance

Florida is a no-fault state, and no-fault insurance is required (see PIP below).

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage for you and your passengers, regardless of fault.

As a no-fault state, the State of Florida current requires drivers to carry PIP insurance with a minimum coverage limit of $10,000.

A standard PIP plan in Florida covers the following (up to your limit):

  • 80% of medically necessary expenses
  • 60% of lost wages
  • 100% of replacement services such as child care, housekeeping or yard work
  • Up to $5,000 for death benefits

Florida SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Florida currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Florida DUI Laws

For the first DUI offense in the State of Florida, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • 6 months imprisonment if BAL (Blood Alcohol Level) is 0.08% to less than 0.15%
  • 9 months imprisonment if BAL is greater than 0.15% or minor is present
  • $500 to $1,000 fine if BAL is 0.08% to less than 0.15%
  • $1000 to $2,000 fine if BAL is greater than 0.15%
  • 180 days to 1 year license suspension
  • Hardship reinstatement after successful completion of DUI school
  • Ignition interlock device required for six months
  • Up to 50 hours community service
  • Community service $10 for each hour served
  • Treatment may be sought in lieu of prison
  • 10 day vehicle impound

Furthermore, if you are found guilty of or plead no contest to a DUI, you will have to carry much higher minimum liability insurance than otherwise required:

  • $100,000 liability to cover one person injured or killed in one crash
  • $300,000 liability to cover two or more persons injured or killed in one crash
  • $50,000 in property damage liability.

You may opt to post a bond or certificate of $350,000 instead, but whichever you choose, you will have to maintain the extra coverage for three years. If you have a clean driving record at the end of that time, you will be allowed to return to the standard level of required insurance.

Additional Information on Florida Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Florida Office of Insurance Regulation at (850) 413-3140 or go to their website at

Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in FL.