Compare Auto Insurance

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in Kentucky

The Commonwealth of Kentucky currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment. If the Department of Vehicle Regulation is made aware that you are driving without insurance, it will revoke the registration of your motor vehicle. If a law enforcement officer stops you, you may face a fine ranging from $500-$1,000, be sentenced to 90 days in jail, or both, plus the suspension of your license plates. Fines and penalties for repeat offenses may be greater. Your insurance company will probably also put you in the “high risk” category with increased premiums or may no longer renew your policy.

Kentucky motor vehicle owners must carry basic no-fault personal injury insurance and liability insurance. If you want to opt out of no-fault insurance, you will need to file a special form with the Kentucky Office of Insurance. This form can be obtained from the Office of Insurance or your insurance agent or company. You are required to carry proof of your Kentucky auto insurance policy in your vehicle at all times and are also required to present evidence of your coverage every time your vehicle registration is up for renewal.

Kentucky Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in Kentucky. The minimum liability amounts for the Commonwealth of Kentucky are as follows:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $50,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $10,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Kentucky Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The Commonwealth of Kentucky does not currently require this coverage.

No-Fault Insurance

Kentucky is a no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is required (see PIP below)

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that pays for medical expenses, rehabilitation, funeral expenses, lost wages, and in-home assistance for you and your passengers injured in an accident, regardless of who is at fault (i.e., no-fault). Passengers who own their own cars collect under their own policies.

As a no-fault state, the Commonwealth of Kentucky current requires drivers to carry PIP insurance.

Kentucky SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Kentucky does not require SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Kentucky DUI Laws

In Kentucky, you can be imprisoned up to 6 months and receive a $500 to $1500 fine for your first DUI offense. In addition, your license will be suspended for the following duration based on your Blood Alcohol Level:

  • 2 to 30 days imprisonment
  • Mandatory 4-day imprisonment for aggravated DUI
  • $200 to $500 fine
  • 30 to 120-day license suspension
  • 90 day alcohol or drug treatment program
  • 48 hours to 30 days community service

Additional Information on Kentucky Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Kentucky Department of Insurance at (502) 564-3630 or go to their website at

Learn more about Auto Insurance Requirements in KY.