Compare Auto Insurance

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in Louisiana

The State of Louisiana currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

Louisiana auto insurance laws are unique. While most vehicles need to have liability insurance coverage, the level of coverage is directly related to the weight of the motor vehicle in question. You must carry proof of Louisiana auto insurance at all times. Acceptable forms of proof include your insurance company issued card, a copy of your declaration page, a copy of your insurance policy or binder, or a written statement from your insurance company or insurance agent that must be printed on company letterhead and include the agent's signature as well as all relevant information about your vehicle. If you are pulled over by a law enforcement officer and cannot provide one of these forms, your license plates will be taken and your vehicle will be impounded. If this happens, you will have 3 business days to present proof of Louisiana auto insurance to the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV). If you cannot show proof of insurance during the allotted time period, your license plates will be destroyed and you will need to register your vehicle all over again.

Louisiana Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of Louisiana. The minimum liability amounts for the State of Louisiana are as follows (for vehicles under 20,000 lbs):

  • $10,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $20,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $10,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of Louisiana does not currently require this coverage.

No-Fault Insurance

Louisiana is a not no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

The State of Louisiana current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

Louisiana SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Louisiana currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Louisiana DUI Laws

For the first DUI offense in the State of Louisiana, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • Up to 6 months imprisonment
  • $1000 fine
  • 90-day license suspension
  • 6-month license suspension if driver is under 21

Additional Information on Louisiana Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Louisiana Department of Insurance at (800) 259-5300 or go to their website at

Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in Louisiana.