Compare Auto Insurance

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in Michigan

The State of Michigan currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

Michigan has the most comprehensive no-fault auto insurance system in the nation. If your vehicle is insured in Michigan, you and your family will be provided with unlimited medical and rehabilitation benefits, wage loss benefits and $20 per day for replacement services for up to three years if you are injured in an auto accident, regardless of fault.

If you own a car and you drive it, or allow someone else to drive it without basic no-fault insurance, you can be sued and held personally liable. You may also be convicted of a misdemeanor and fined from $200 to $500, or put in jail for up to one year, or both. The court may also order your license suspended for 30 days or until you are able to provide such proof. In addition, if you are uninsured you may be held liable for all damages that result from an accident while uninsured, including your own.

Michigan Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of Michigan. The minimum liability amounts for the State of Michigan are as follows:

  • $20,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $40,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $10,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of Michigan does not currently require this coverage.

No-Fault Insurance

Michigan is a no-fault state and requires no-fault bodily injury liability insurance for all drivers (see PIP and PPI below).

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Personal Property (PPI)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

As a no-fault state, the State of Michigan current requires drivers to carry PIP and Personal Property coverage (PPI). PIP insurance will cover all reasonable and necessary medical costs, funeral and burial expenses, up to $20 a day for services you cannot perform for yourself, survivors' benefits and replacement services (paid to dependents in the event of death), and a maximum of $4,400 per month for lost wages, for up to three years. PPI protection will pay a maximum of $1 million per accident, excluding cars unless they are parked.

Michigan SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Michigan currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Michigan DUI Laws

For the first DUI offense in the State of Michigan, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • Up to 93 days imprisonment
  • $100 to $500 fine
  • $1,000 driver responsibility fee
  • 6 month license suspension
  • 6 license points
  • Possible restricted license after 30 days
  • Possible 360 hours community service
  • Possible ignition interlock
  • Possible vehicle immobilization

Additional Information on Michigan Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Michigan Office of Financial and Insurance Regulation at (517) 335-4978 or go to their website at

Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in MI.