Save up to 75% on insurance

Cheapest rates from just $19 a month

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

QuoteLab.com


Auto Insurance in Montana

The State of Montana currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

Operating a motor vehicle without the minimum required insurance coverage in Montana is illegal, with the exception of motorcycles. Montana state law requires all drivers to carry evidence of insurance at all times while driving and be prepared to present this proof of insurance to any law enforcement official who requests it. Driving uninsured is considered a misdemeanor and a first offense is punished with fines of up to $500 and no less than $250. Additionally, you can be put in county jail for up to 10 days. The very first time you are caught driving without proper insurance, you will also get five points on your license. If you should make the mistake of violating Montana auto insurance laws a second time, you will be fined $350, at a minimum, and be put in jail for up to 10 days, in addition to having your license automatically suspended for 90 days from the date of the violation.

Montana Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of Montana. The minimum liability amounts for the State of Montana are as follows:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $50,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $10,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of Montana does not currently require this coverage.

No-Fault Insurance

Montana is a not no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

The State of Montana current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

Montana SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Montana currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Montana DUI Laws

For the first DUI offense in the State of Montana, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • 1 day to 6 months imprisonment
  • 2 days to 12 months imprisonment if minor under 16 present in vehicle
  • $300 to $1,000 fine
  • $600 to $2,000 fine if minor under 16 present in vehicle
  • 6 month license suspension
  • Completion of chemical dependency education course or treatment
  • Possible ignition interlock
  • Possible restricted license

Additional Information on Montana Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Montana Insurance Commissioner's office at (406) 444-2040 or go to their website at www.sao.mt.gov.