Compare Auto Insurance

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in Nebraska

The State of Nebraska currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

Should you be caught driving in Nebraska without auto insurance, your license may be suspended immediately. If you have failed to maintain evidence of proper insurance coverage (or been involved in a serious accident, or convicted of driving while intoxicated), you will need to become familiar with an SR-22 Certificate of Insurance. The SR-22 Certificate of Insurance is required if you are going to be issued a new driver's license.

Nebraska Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of Nebraska. The minimum liability amounts for the State of Nebraska are as follows:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $50,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $25,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of Nebraska does not currently require this coverage.

No-Fault Insurance

Nebraska is a not no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

The State of Nebraska current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

Nebraska SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Nebraska currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Nebraska DUI Laws

For the first DUI offense in the State of Nebraska, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • Minimum 7 days to 60 days imprisonment
  • Up to $500 fine
  • Up to 6 month license suspension
  • 1 year license suspension if Blood Alcohol Level is 0.15% or above
  • Possible alcohol treatment/assessment

Additional Information on Nebraska Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Nebraska Department of Insurance at (877) 564-7323 or go to their website at