Compare Auto Insurance

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in New Mexico

The State of New Mexico currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

New Mexico offers one way around the required coverage; if you can present a $60,000 cash deposit or surety bond, you will be considered covered without having to make payments to an insurance company every month.

New Mexico Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of New Mexico. The minimum liability amounts for the State of New Mexico are as follows:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $50,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $10,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of New Mexico does not currently require this coverage.

No-Fault Insurance

New Mexico is a not no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

The State of New Mexico current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

New Mexico SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

New Mexico currently does not require an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

New Mexico DWI Laws

For the first DWI offense in the State of New Mexico, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • Up to 90 days imprisonment
  • Up to 1 year license suspension
  • Ignition interlock for 1 year
  • Must attend DWI school
  • Required alcohol evaluation
  • Community service
  • Possible alcohol treatment

Additional Information on New Mexico Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the New Mexico PRC Department of Insurance at (888) 427-5772 or go to their website at