Compare Auto Insurance

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

Auto Insurance in Ohio

In Ohio, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without insurance or other proof of financial responsibility (FR). It is also illegal for any motor vehicle owner to allow anyone else to drive the owner's vehicle without FR proof. To comply with the FR requirements, individuals must maintain insurance or get a bond. The overwhelming majority of Ohio drivers choose to maintain insurance to satisfy this requirement.

Failure to carry proper insurance (or proof of financial responsibility) will result in heavy penalties. Upon your first offense, you will lose your license for 90 days. A second offense will result in the loss of your license for one year. Any additional offenses will result in losing your license for two years. Neglecting to carry proper Ohio auto insurance can bring even more consequences including the loss of your license plates and registration, having your car impounded or sold, having your license revoked, being required to carry "high risk" insurance for up to 5 years, and having to pay reinstatement fees ranging from $75 to $500.

Ohio Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of Ohio. The minimum liability amounts for the State of Ohio are as follows:

  • $12,500 bodily injury per person.
  • $25,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $7,500 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of Ohio does not currently require this coverage.

No-Fault Insurance

Ohio is a not no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

The State of Ohio current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

Ohio SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Ohio currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Ohio OVI Laws

For the first Operating a Vehicle Intoxicated (OVI) offense in the State of Ohio, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • 3 days to 6 months imprisonment or
  • 3 day driver intervention program
  • 6 days imprisonment if Blood Alcohol Content is 0.17% or above
  • 6 months to 3 years license suspension
  • $450 reinstatement fee
  • $250 to $1,000 fine

Additional Information on Ohio Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Ohio Department of Insurance at (614) 644-2658 or go to their website at

Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in OH.